Personal tools
You are here: Home About Us Heritage Public Library Board and Staff Members

Heritage Public Library Board and Staff Members

Document Actions

This page provides a listing of the Heritage Public Library Board of Trustees and its primary staff members.


Heritage Public Library

Board of Trustees


Susan Turnage : New Kent County(Dist. 4), Chair
Karen Lara Templin: Charles City County(at large), Vice-chair,
William Leary: New Kent County(District 5), Treasurer
Lisa Brown: Charles City(District 2) Secretary


Jennifer Richardson: Charles City County(Dist. 1)
Doris Holloman: Charles City County(Dist. 3)
Margaret (Peg) Noctor:  New Kent County(Dist. 1)
Juanita Collins: New Kent County(Dist. 2) 
Cecilia Garner: New Kent County(Dist. 3) 
Howard Ormond: New Kent County(at large) 

Heritage Public Library serves the citizens of Charles City and New Kent counties in Virginia. Organized as a private not-for-profit corporation, it first opened its doors to the public on August 4 1981. It is governed by an 11-member Library Board. Each county supervisor can appoint one member and those 8 members can then appoint up to 3 additional members. All Board members serve rotating 4-year terms.

The library is not a governmental entity of either county, but operates under a contractual relationship with the two counties. Heritage Public Library is the smallest multi-jurisdictional public library in Virginia.

Library Administration

Barbara Winters, Director

Margaret Ice, Programs

Kathy Wills, Fiscal Officer

Judith Harris, Technology Manager / Webmaster

Debi Faulconer, Circulation Desk Manager/Acquisitions/Cataloging

« July 2014 »
Location & Hours

New Kent

6215 D Chesapeake Cir

New Kent, VA 23124


  • 10am-8pm M & T
  • 10am-6pm W
  • Closed  Th
  • 9am-5pm  F
  • 10am-2pm S

Charles City

10780 Courthouse Rd

Charles City, VA 23030


  • 10am-6pm M
  • 1pm-7pm Th
  • 10am-2pm S

staff log in